Which States Allow Gay Marriage

Search the Web:

Which States Allow Gay Marriage on site za-cadrom.ru

While many states have actively banned gay marriage, a handful of states have allowed same-sex couples to access civil marriage rights. Here is a resource page that contains information on which states allow gay marriage.

Looking for news you can trust? Subscribe to our free newsletters. Update (6/26/2015): On June 26, 2015, the US Supreme Court ruled that bans on same-sex marriage were unconstitutional. The ruling effectively legalized gay marriage in every state.

6, 2013: The Illinois state legislature legalized same-sex marriage on Nov. 5, putting the state on track to join 14 others and the District of Columbia in allowing gay couples to wed. The bill, passed by the state legislature with a 61-54 vote in the house and a 32-21 vote in the senate...

Gay marriage licenses are given, only in some states of the U.S.A. Scroll below, to learn which states are these.

Massachusetts has not banned gay marriage. What the legislature has done is voted on a proposed ammendment that would ban any future gay marriages. It would have to pass again next year and then be passed by the people to actually become law.

These 13 states, plus the District of Columbia, have legalized same-sex marriage. Alabama. Brian Esser and Kevin' O'Leary, a married same-sex couple in New York, react to the Supreme Court's decision on DOMA and how it will affect their family's finances.

Despite Proposition 8, many regions around the globe are allowing same sex marriage. This is a list of those legalized gay marriage states and countries.

* MASSACHUSETTS - In 2003, Massachusetts became the first state to allow gay marriage after its highest court ruled the state's ban violated the constitutional rights of same-sex couples.

States That Historically Allowed Gay Marriage. Alabama. Gay Marriage State Since: February 9, 2015. It would be more than a year before Colorado finally became a gay marriage state, which happened on October 7, 2014. Connecticut.

Same-sex marriage (also known as gay marriage) is marriage between people of the same sex, either as a secular civil ceremony or in a religious setting. The term marriage equality refers to a political status in which same-sex marriage and opposite-sex marriage are considered legally equal.

Europe. Brussels Bureau. State Of The Union. Gay marriage is also legal in the United Kingdom, except in Northern Ireland. Northern and western Europe allows gay marriage, while the further east and south-east you go, the less liberal it is.

The U.S. Supreme Court on Monday declined to take up the hotly contested issue of gay marriage, a surprise move that will allow gay men and women to marry...

So far, more than two dozen countries have enacted national laws allowing gays and lesbians to marry, mostly in Europe and the Americas. In Mexico, some jurisdictions allow same-sex couples to wed, while others do not. Countries That Allow Gay Marriage.

The Supreme Court has ruled that the U.S. Constitution contains an inalienable right to same-sex "marriage." In a 5-4 ruling handed down this morning, the justices ruled that the Fourteenth Amendment requires states to offer marriage licenses to homosexual couples.

Massachusetts: A State That Allows Gay Marriage. Massachusetts is one of the states that permits gay marriage or civil unions. Same-sex couples have been able to get marriage licenses starting in May 2004.
Photo : States that Allow Gay Marriage | LoveToKnow